Training Programs Achieve UCNS Accreditation

11-15-2023 The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of 10 newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now  243 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective December 1, 2023.

Program  Program Director 
Autonomic Disorders
University of Utah Melissa Cortez, DO
Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry
University of Arizona, Phoenix/Banner Sun Health Research Institute Parichita Choudhury, MD
Headache Medicine  
New York Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical College Susan Broner, MD
Interventional Neurology  
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, El Paso  Alberto Maud, MD 
Neonatal Neurocritical Care  
Children's National Hospital  Sarah Mulkey, MD, PhD 
Cincinnati Children's Medical Center  Charu Venkatesan, MD, PhD
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine  Joseph Scafidi, DO, MS 
University of California, San Francisco  Hannah Glass, MDCM 
University of Texas Southwestern  Jennifer Thomas, MD 
Washington University in St. Louis/St. Louis Children's Hospital  Sarah Bauer Huang, MD, PhD 

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under Accreditation at Applications received by January 31, 2024,  will be reviewed for accreditation in the spring of 2024. Accreditation applications received by July 31, 2024, will be reviewed in the fall of 2024.